Speaking at PASS DBA Virtual Chapter

Posted by & filed under , , , , .

5563354444_eccd98e3dc_mIf you are looking to become more familiar with extended events, take a gander at this month’s DBA Virtual Chapter meeting.  I’ll be presenting at both of the meetings for the month.

The first meeting will cover the basics and some information on where Extended Events is going.  The second will cover some deeper content and show some solutions that you can start using today.

Extended Events, Work Smarter Not Harder – Part 1

There are many ways to performance monitor your SQL Server environment.  In this session we’ll introduce you to Extended Events; which is one of the newer SQL Server monitoring platforms.  Learn the ins and outs of how to get detailed information on the errors and events that occur within SQL Server and how to dig into the information.  With a few T-SQL statements, issues that could take weeks to research can be investigated in minutes.

Date: June 8, 2011 Noon Mountain (1 PM CST)
Registration: https://www.livemeeting.com/lrs/8000181573/Registration.aspx?pageName=cw263v66qbwrlvks
Meeting:
https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/8000181573/join?id=8HNTB5&role=attend

Extended Events, Work Smarter Not Harder – Part 2

In the last session, we dug into the basics of Extended Events (XEvents).  We arrived at an understanding of what is available with XEvents and how to use it.  In this session, we’ll go deeper and look at how to use XEvents for performance tuning and troubleshooting. We’ll explore some common performance issues related to SQL Server and demonstrate method to resolve those issues.

Date: June 22, 2011 Noon Eastern (11 AM CST)
Registration: TBD – check http://dba.sqlpass.org/

  • http://www.bing.com/ Zavrina

    I will be putting this dazzling insihgt to good use in no time.